Thoughts On Game 1

I certainly won’t do this for every game, but I did want to jot down some quick thoughts about the Twins opener:

First, I’m not worried about Carl Pavano. The Jays hit homers against everyone, though I would like to see less of this from Pavano:

That’s just way too many pitches in the middle of the plate. I assume it’s something he will correct, hopefully by getting rid of the goatee and bringing back the Pavstache.

I will refrain from passing judgment on Nishioka based on one game, but tonight did nothing to dissuade my fear that the Twins paid a 5 million dollar posting fee and are paying him 3 million per year for the next three years (so basically 3.6 million over three years, with an option to pay him 4 million the year after) just to avoid paying JJ Hardy 5.85 million this year. If Hardy isn’t worth 2 million more than Nishioka this year I’ll be pretty shocked

Lastly, on the bullpen. Again, it’s just one game, but I have no desire to see Dusty Hughes through 82 mph meatballs over what Pat Neshek can do, and I don’t like seeing Kevin Slowey relegated to a mop up role in the bullpen. That’s what Nick Blackburn should be doing. I am not sure if the Twins are doing it based on the contracts (god I hope it is to get Blackburn’s trade value up so they can get rid of him) or if they sincerely believe that Slowey isn’t good enough to be in the rotation, but either way it is wrong.

And lastly, if it’s a blowout, how about we just pick a pitcher, say, Perkins, to eat the last 3 or 4 innings rather than making 4 pitchers cover it. It’s early, but that’s a good way to burn your relievers quickly.

Leave a Reply

